Sunday, January 6, 2013

National Holidays

In a strict sense, there are no national holidays in the United States. Each of the 50 states has jurisdiction over its own holidays. The ten holidays listed below are proclaimed by the federal government as holidays for federal government employees and most states observe these holidays on the same dates (commonly called legal or public holidays).

New Year's Day: January 1
Martin Luther King Day: third Monday in January
President's Day: third Monday in February
Memorial Day: last Monday in May
Independence Day: July 4
Labor Day: first Monday in September
Columbus Day: second Monday in October
Veterans Day: November 11
Thanksgiving Day: fourth Thursday in November
Christmas Day: December 25

No comments:

Post a Comment